The Final Chapter?


I’ve written over 250 stories and pages about growing up and making them available to anyone who is misguided enough to stumble upon them here in cyberspace.  To you, perhaps this doesn’t sound like such a big deal. 

For me though, I feel like it’s helping to put a bow on what my life’s objectives has been.  You see, I never really wanted to be one of those people who was known for doing just one thing, perhaps really well.  It’s not like I’m trying to make myself out to be a renaissance guy; no, I’m not good enough at anything to be considered as such.  Renaissance?  No, I’m more of a Recycle guy!  Having survived getting hit by a school bus, I just wanted to celebrate survival by doing different things that I felt would help to stretch myself.  And if I’m doing a little self analysis, I’m feeling like ‘I did it, I survived’.

Don’t get me wrong.  I look through my writing notes and I see that there are still a few chapters I could write about, but I don’t seem to be energized enough to “create”.  Like all of you, I’ve had my share of downs and I’ve certainly had my share of physical pain.  So today when I’m totally pain free and have a high level of inner peace, it’s tough for me to sit down here and write.  I’m busy.  I have my part time retirement gig, I’m golfing 3-4 times per week, bowling one night per week (thanks to the new knee), I’m an active market trader, I study precious metals, I practice my Spanish everyday and I always have 1-2 books that I’m actively reading.

Writing these little life chapters is nothing I ever imagined doing as a child, (or even as an adult).  In fact in first grade I can vividly recall telling an art teacher that I wasn’t creative, that I would never be good at anything artistic – I was good at math!  So picking up a guitar after the age of 40, writing songs and singing in front of others at a coffee shop; I thought was the last creative thing I would ever attempt.  Maybe 5 years from now it will be yet something new.  Who knows? 

Yet…that is indeed the aspect that makes my life exciting to me.  For me, it’s what growing up is about – widening my boundaries, finding inner peace and loving my family.  Likely I will be back….we’ll see.  In the meantime, stretch yourselves; always be learning something, anything.

Continue to grow up.

Leave a comment